• lilykay75

My One and Only Duke by Grace Burrowes

There's a reason why Grace Burrowes is a goto for historical romance. She has a way of weaving character development with plot, while hooking us into caring about the characters. My One and Only Duke is the start of a new series (Rogues to Riches) and features Quinn Wentworth and Jane Winston.

Quinn is about to be hanged for a murder he didn't commit. And just as he takes his last breath, he's pardoned by the King, since he is named the long lost heir to a dukedom.

Jane Winston is a philanthropist, widowed, and pregnant. She visits Quinn and the other prisoners before he is to be hanged. Realizing she is vulnerable without protection, Quinn offers to marry her and provide her with his fortune, so she will be able to raise her child with a name and financial resources.

However, happily - or else we wouldn't have a book - Quinn survives and the marriage is in fact still legal. What starts out as a marriage of convenience of sorts grows into a love match. And along the way, we learn who put Quinn in prison and why, as well as meet Quinn's siblings and cousin, whom will all have their own HEA. I'm a bit bummed this is the first in a series because I now have to wait for the series to finish. However, I can't wait for the next book, which I believe will be his cousin.

Steam Level - 3.5 (1-5) First in a series

Subgenre: Historical Romance


© 2016 by LILY KAY. Created with Wix.com

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean